top of page
Search

Your Someone's Hero

Massage therapists are in a unique position to physically and emotionally touch people. We may not realize just how much we touch someone. You may banish the pain they have suffered with for years. You may relax the stress that is keeping them up at night. You may be the one that comforts them through grief, loneliness or trauma. Perhaps you introduce a touch they have never felt before. The caring, comfort touch that says you are safe and cared for here.


I used to massage a terminal patient that was so sick I found myself wondering if I was helping. I even asked his family if I should keep coming. They asked him if he wanted to have his massages continue. He replied "my massages are the only time someone touches me that it doesn't hurt".


I massaged a long term dementia patient regularly to help him sleep and not wonder at night. He couldn't remember my name. He called me "back rub lady". Slowly he lost his memory of daily life and his family. His family called me when he was in the hospital in his final hours and said he was asking for back rub lady. I went to the hospital and gave him a back rub. He peacefully passed shortly after. His family was convinced he wanted one more back rub.


Touch connects us on a profound level with the people we touch. They may carry that gratitude with them and never say a word. When you wonder if you are making a difference, if what you do matters, it you should continue... remember to someone you are their hero. Carry on!


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page